h1

800

February 14, 2010

Here’s what 800 badges on a campfire blanket looks like:

‘Front’ or ‘Side 1’
Fire as designed by my father and I… representing both the Guide Trefoil and the Scout Promise Badge in a camp fire fashion… adapting the top star into a cross; thus representing my faith. The two neckerchiefs underneath are the colours of the two guide units to which I belonged.
Badges earned, swapped or stolen up to the age of 18.
As amended 13th November 2009.

and ‘Back’ or ‘Side 2’
Badges earned, swapped or stolen post age 18.
As ‘finished’ 14th February 2010; 800 badges sewn on thus far…

Sewing badges on my blanket on days when I’m not doing so great, certainly mentally, has the ability to lift my mood somewhat.

Small things together make impressive things.

I wonder if it’d be possible to reach 1000 badges on my blanket by the end of the Girlguiding Centenary? (Which, incidentally lands on my 25th birthday – ack, I’ll be a quarter of the age of Guiding!)

2 comments

  1. Amazing.


  2. Thanks, Phil.I'm just slightly upset that there isn't a sew-on badge for sale in the LST merchandise… 😦



Leave a comment