h1

Visiting churches

February 15, 2010

Yesterday I met a friend at Camden Town tube station, feeling somewhat overdressed… We went to St Paul’s Church, Camden Square, which isn’t so much of a square as a rectangle, but hey.
St Paul’s is one of the four churches in the Parish of Old St Pancras, where I am applying for a Pastoral Assistant role for next academic year.
Upon arrival, we entered what appeared to be the church hall, at one end there was a small chapel, where the congregation were gathered in quiet before Mass. We were given hymn books and service sheets and found a place to sit. The churches are routed in the Anglo-catholic tradition, so the 5.30 Mass was very liturgical. I don’t have a problem with this, having been brought up ‘high’ Anglican, and having fairly diverse church life after that!
The congregation of about 15-20 knew their liturgy so well, it was almost a race! I was slightly distraught when my ‘tea time alarm’ went off during the sermon, especially as tea at LST isn’t at 6pm on a Sunday! The shame! During the sermon, Bruce, the Father of St Paul’s and Old St Pancras spoke about the mission of the parish; being church in the community, serving the homeless, the elderly and the needy. I was impressed. Despite the lack of stewarding in terms of showing myself and Dave, obviously visitors where to go/what to do during communion, they appeared to be a really ‘switched on’ congregation, in terms of doing church; a community.
I wasn’t sure how long Dave wanted to stick around for afterwards, but it seemed rude to decline the invitation to stay for coffee. People started talking to me after the service, which was a good sign! I was talking to a lady called Julia, who turned out to be the P.A. to one of the clergy, and asked me; ‘You’re either here to have your Banns read, or you’re interested in the Pastoral Assistant scheme, are you Elizabeth?’ I’d been sussed out! Heh! She introduced me to Father Bruce Batstone, with whom I had a very informative and helpful chat. He asked me why I was interested in the role, having already had a fair amount of experience. He asked me if I was comfortable with their liturgical style of worship, acknowledging that it can be difficult to worship in an unfamiliar style, likening it to trying to ‘worship while there is roadworks outside, it’s not impossible, but it can do your head in after a while!’ Hilarious. I explained to him that I have been a Verger at Southwell Minster and am happy with most worship styles.
On the way back to the tube station, Dave and I discussed the church, which was fun, he reminded me I don’t have to take the first job offered to me; not that I’ve been offered one job yet!
I was so tired travelling back to LST, I missed a station I needed to change at by two stops, feeling like an idiot, I got off the train and caught one back in the opposite direction to correct myself. Changing at Wembley Park was cold and frustrating, I’d obviously just missed a Watford train, as the next one wasn’t for another 13 minutes. Brr. But… I didn’t panic and I got home safely!
However, visiting the church really helped nail why I want the job. I want to make a difference. I have a passion to serve God in this country. I want to use what I have learned in my degree practically. I want to build on my previous experiences. I want to develop my pastoral skills. I want to use that opportunity to discern God’s specific calling for my life. Not that I would pick a job in the center of London myself, but that’s God for you, I guess!
I have ’till Friday to get my application to them.

Leave a comment