h1

PA – out of my comfort zone!

August 25, 2010

Towards the end of my degree, in Worship Clinic, we did personal and peer assessments, which I talked about here. One of the goals which came from my assessment was to do with PA. I’d learned all the theory in 1st year, but because there have always been people with far more expertise and/or enthusiasm, I’d always avoided getting involved with it myself. I sat at the back of Chapel a few times towards the end of term to try and improve my knowledge of how it all works and my attitude towards PA!

It seems that taking positive steps to overcome a negative thought pattern towards a certain issue really does help! Now I’ve started work at All Souls, the PA desk makes the one at LST seem tiny!

Initially Nick taught us how to use the relatively simple PA set ups in St Paul’s and in the Waldegrave Hall, which included how to set up for Sunday overflow services. I’ve had a few chances to play with it for events already, and I’m feeling much happier than I thought I might over PA and also computer/projector set ups, too.

Today, Chris took us through the PA in the main church – there is so much to think about. But, having sat with Chris last night, who was playing with the PA for the Prayer and Praise gathering, I felt like I already understood what was going on. Chris has just installed a new digital mixing desk, which I’ve been told will be much easier to use than the previous one! Easier or not, I’m still kinda chuffed with myself that I vaguely understand what’s going on, and that I’m happy to attempt to use it when next required!

I am definitely stepping out of my comfort zone 🙂

3 comments

  1. Just tell ’em to stop mumbling and raise their voices a bit; and tell them as say they can’t hear to sit nearer the front. Whaddaya need all this fancy PA stuff for?


    • But most of ’em don’t mumble. And those who sit near the back generally can’t move forward, cause those seats have people in ’em. And what about all those downstairs in the overflow? And what about those with hearing aids who need to turn it on to ‘T’? They wouldn’t have a hearing loop if it weren’t for the PA… And what would all the techies do? You can’t just go making ’em redundant just like that…


      • Small groups, darlin’ 😉

        Tell ’em to stop doing Big Church and get on down to the park with the rest of us mentals. We didn’t need a PA, just putting away…

        Downstairs? Wotz anyone at All Souls doing Down Below? Less of this devilish fraternising, please! Up, up to glory — to infinity and beyond, as my good friend Buzz Lightyear would say!

        I knew you’d mention a loop system. I say bring on the fruitloops!! But you can do a loopity-do system without broadcasting it to everyone else. And those bods sitting at the front should move right along now, please, ladies and gentlemen: throw down some scatter cushions and picnic blankets and sit on the floor!

        Yay! Pump up the VOLUME!!!



Leave a comment